home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

This article has been published in: Ocula 21, Geosemiotics: from locative media to diffused images, big and small data

author: Giorgio Avezzù (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore, Milano (IT))

Homotopic interference and locational noir imaging. A geocritical reflection on disturbing spaces in cinema starting from Black Dahlia

language: italian

publication date: December 2019

abstract: This paper aims at offering a geocritical exploration of cinema starting from The Black Dahlia (Brian De Palma,
2006) and retracing the tradition of the noir film genre, taking into consideration the peculiar relations between this genre and “real” spaces and geographies. The question of Hollywood cinema representing Hollywood itself (and Los Angeles) will be considered in order to verify a fundamental difference between how “disturbing spaces” are constructed in cinema and in literature. While the geocritical approach to the study of literature usually maintains that similar “interfering” spaces are (de)constructed through “heterotopic” strategies, the case of noir film genre shows how cinema – a very singular locative medium – can effectively rely on “homotopic” strategies, instead.

keywords: geosemiotica, geosemiotics, spazio, cinema, geografia, geocritica, hollywood, space, film studies, geography, geocritics

➞ PDF [544Kb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula2019-23

citation information: Giorgio Avezzù, Interferenza omotopica e locational imaging noir. Una riflessione geocritica sugli spazi disturbanti nel cinema a partire da Black Dahlia, "Ocula", vol.20, December 2019. DOI: 10.12977/ocula2019-23

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera Università di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (Università Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Ruggero Eugeni (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore , Milano)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (Università di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (Università di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (Università La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Junji Tsuchiya (Waseda University, Tokio, Japan)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it) from 2017

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna