home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

This article has been published in: Ocula 21, Geosemiotics: from locative media to diffused images, big and small data

authors: Giovanni Curtis (ISIA Roma Design (IT)) and Antonio Opromolla (Link Campus University (IT))

Hybrid urban spaces. From the introduction of digital technology to new social processes in the city

language: italian

publication date: December 2019

abstract: The contribution starts from a review of the main studies of the semiotics of urban spaces in order to focus on how nowadays, new social processes and the introduction of modern information and communication technologies (ICT) transform the traditional categorisations between different types of urban spaces. In particular, the possibility of a constant connection of individuals leads to an overcoming of the physical and material boundaries inherent within the idea of “space”, leading to bringing together, mixing and communicating different categories of spaces. New forms of urban space emerge. In the contribution we deal, for example, with the transformation of the concept of “limit”, which becomes more and more fleeting and nuanced on the basis of technological elements, at the same time creating new social processes. These elements let emerge the need of new design tools able to face the emerging complexity.

keywords: geosemiotica+geosemiotics, spazi urbani, ict, spazi ibridi, design, esperienza, narrazione, urban spaces, hybrid spaces, experience, storytelling

➞ PDF [1,810Mb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula2019-21

citation information: Giovanni Curtis and Antonio Opromolla, Spazi urbani ibridi. Dall’introduzione del digitale ai processi sociali nella città, "Ocula", vol.20, n.21, pp.38-55, December 2019. DOI: 10.12977/ocula2019-21

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera Università di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (Università Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Ruggero Eugeni (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore , Milano)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (Università di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (Università di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (Università La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Junji Tsuchiya (Waseda University, Tokio, Japan)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it) from 2017 to 2019

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna