home page
 
METADATI


Questo articolo è stato sottoposto a double blind peer review

autore: Anne Ketola (University of Tampere (FI))

Teaching Intersemiotic Meaning Construction in Design

lingua: inglese

data di pubblicazione: novembre 2016

abstract: In this paper I examine the mechanisms of intersemiotic meaning construction that are at play when we combine messages created by words and images. In order to ex-emplify the semiotic space that can be created between the two sign systems, I pro-vide examples of picturebook translation; a process in which visual semiotic elements inevitably shape the transferal of verbal semiotic elements from one language to an-other. With the help of these examples, I wish to empirically illustrate how these mechanisms unfold and demonstrate the power of the visual semiotic to the reshape our interpretation of the verbal. I argue that creating a sensibility towards intersemi-otic meaning construction ought to be an integral part of the curriculum in all fields of communication, including design. Knowledge of these mechanisms provides de-signers with a tool to create powerful messages in and across semiotic modes. I con-clude my discussion by outlining insights to inform the pedagogical practice of design training.

keywords: intersemiotic translation, design, design as translation, picturebooks

OCULA-FLUX-DESIGN-Ketola.pdf ➞ PDF [637Kb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula72

citazione: Anne Ketola, Teaching Intersemiotic Meaning Construction in Design, "Ocula", vol.17, novembre 2016. DOI: 10.12977/ocula72

  

 

Ocula.it pubblica saggi di ricerca semiotica, in particolare applicata alla comunicazione e alla cultura, è aperta al dialogo con altri campi di ricerca e accoglie contributi che provengono da ogni ambito delle scienze umane e sociali.

Comitato Scientifico

Anne Beyaert-Geslin (UniversitÚ Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (UniversitÚ Paris 1, PanthÚon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Guido Ferraro (UniversitÓ di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (UniversitÓ di Bologna)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (UniversitÓ di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Susan Petrilli (UniversitÓ di Bari)
Maria Pia Pozzato (UniversitÓ di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (UniversitÚ de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Alessandro Zinna (UniversitÚ de Toulouse 2, France)


Redazione

Coordinatore redazionale: Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it) from 2012 to 2017

Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
Puoi contribuire alle nostre attività con una donazione compiuta in modo sicuro via carta di credito o PayPal








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula aderisce ai principi della Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula è indicizzato da Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) e Google Scholar

I contenuti di questo sito sono rilasciati secondo la formula di licenza Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it è pubblicato da Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna