home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

author: Anne Ketola (University of Tampere (FI))

Teaching Intersemiotic Meaning Construction in Design

language: english

publication date: November 2016

abstract: In this paper I examine the mechanisms of intersemiotic meaning construction that are at play when we combine messages created by words and images. In order to ex-emplify the semiotic space that can be created between the two sign systems, I pro-vide examples of picturebook translation; a process in which visual semiotic elements inevitably shape the transferal of verbal semiotic elements from one language to an-other. With the help of these examples, I wish to empirically illustrate how these mechanisms unfold and demonstrate the power of the visual semiotic to the reshape our interpretation of the verbal. I argue that creating a sensibility towards intersemi-otic meaning construction ought to be an integral part of the curriculum in all fields of communication, including design. Knowledge of these mechanisms provides de-signers with a tool to create powerful messages in and across semiotic modes. I con-clude my discussion by outlining insights to inform the pedagogical practice of design training.

keywords: intersemiotic translation, design, design as translation, picturebooks

OCULA-FLUX-DESIGN-Ketola.pdf ➞ PDF [637Kb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula72

citation information: Anne Ketola, Teaching Intersemiotic Meaning Construction in Design, "Ocula", vol.17, November 2016. DOI: 10.12977/ocula72

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Anne Beyaert-Geslin (UniversitÚ Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (UniversitÚ Paris 1, PanthÚon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Guido Ferraro (UniversitÓ di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (UniversitÓ di Bologna)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (UniversitÓ di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Susan Petrilli (UniversitÓ di Bari)
Maria Pia Pozzato (UniversitÓ di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (UniversitÚ de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Alessandro Zinna (UniversitÚ de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it) from 2012 to 2017

Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna