home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

This article has been published in: Ocula 12, Alibi: an Approach to the Semiotics of Travel

author: Francesco Galofaro (Centro Universitario Bolognese di Etnosemiotica (CUBE), Bologna (IT))

Krakowiak. Fragments from a Misinterpretive Ethnosemiotics

language: italian

publication date: March 2012

abstract: The first part of the article consists in some travel notes from the "nonexistent country", as once Jarry defined Poland. The second part is an attempt to draw some metasemiotic consequences of the impact of a different culture I was not prepared to face. I do not deny that in such cases we try to make inferences, but I believe they are always wrong. There is no cognitive, pre-existent, inborn mechanism capable to make our hypotheses always successful. Furthermore, the objects alone, which, according to some scholars, constitute the trigger of semiosis, are in themselves, as an exhausted candle, totally unable to feed it. To this purpose there exist codes: the appropriation of a town goes through a series of performances intimately tied to the language, which is the primary modelling system, and by which we recognise what is ours in the other's, making in such a way our culture and the other's mutually accessible.

keywords: viaggio, turismo, letteratura di viaggio, semiosi, cultura, sistema modellizzante, accessibilità, etnosemiotica

➞ PDF [262Kb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula4

citation information: Francesco Galofaro, Krakowiak Frammenti di una etnosemiotica misinterpretativa, "Ocula", vol.13, n.12, March 2012. DOI: 10.12977/ocula4

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it) from 2012 to 2017

Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna