home page
 
METADATA



This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

author: Orlando Paris

Strategie di ridefinizione semantica della città. La street art e i segni di riscrittura urbana

language: italian

publication date: May 2021

abstract: In this paper we will analyse street art by focusing on the effects of meaning that this form of art produces in its relationship to urban elements and spaces and, conversely, how these enter significantly into artistic representation. In other words, the central theme will be the complex relationship between pieces of street art and the surfaces used (walls, shutters, barriers, buildings, etc.), which are anything but neutral loca- tions. This structural relationship – which is an internal mechanism of the urban text – raises broad and specifically semiotic questions such as the representation of a city, its internal conflicts and the subjectivities that seek to re-write it.

keywords: semiotics, street art, urban text, surface, re-writing signs

OCULA-FluxSaggi-PARIS-Strategie-di-ridefinizione-semantica-della-citta768-la-street.pdf ➞ PDF [1,475Mb]

citation information: Orlando Paris, Strategie di ridefinizione semantica della città. La street art e i segni di riscrittura urbana, "Ocula", vol.22, May 2021.

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera Università di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (Università Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Ruggero Eugeni (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore , Milano)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (Università di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (Università di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (Università La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Junji Tsuchiya (Waseda University, Tokio, Japan)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com) from 2020
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it) from 2020

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna