home page
 
METADATA



This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

author: Valentina Manchia (Dipartimento di Design, Politecnico di Milano, IT)

Between Visuality and Visualization. On the Borders with the W.J.T. Mitchell’s «Sweet» Image Science: a Reading

language: italian

publication date: November 2020

abstract: In a semiotic perspective, in dialogue with a science of images, J.W.T. Mitchell’s Image Science (2015) appears interesting not only for the theoretical contributions here collected but for the argumentative structure bringing them together, that the author himself does not hesitate to propose as a metapicture of his system of thought. This essay therefore focuses both on the figurative (and figural) modalities of Mitchell’s argumentative strategies and on the theoretical possibilities that an open reflection on interdisciplinary boundaries can open in different directions.

keywords: visual culture studies, semiotica, semiotica visiva, teoria delle immagini, verbo-visivo, semiotics, visual semiotics, image theory, verbo-visual

➞ PDF [453Kb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-50

citation information: Valentina Manchia, Tra visualità e visualizzazione. Ai confini della «scienza dolce delle immagini» di W.J.T. Mitchell: una lettura, "Ocula", vol.21, November 2020. DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-50

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera Università di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (Università Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Ruggero Eugeni (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore , Milano)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (Università di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (Università di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (Università La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Junji Tsuchiya (Waseda University, Tokio, Japan)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it) from 2017

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna