home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

This article has been published in: Ocula 23, Flowers of the soul: The symbolism of flowers in the religious imagination

author: Francesco Galofaro (Dipartimento di filosofia e scienze dell'educazione, UniversitÓ di Torino (UNITO); Centro Universitario Bolognese di Etnosemiotica (CUBE))

Rosa Mystica: the Morphogenesis of the Rose

language: english

publication date: July 2020

abstract: The paper focuses on the presence of botanical figures, such as flowers and gardens, in the sources of the Litany of Loreto, aiming to reconstruct how the function of these figures changed from the Old and New Testament through the acclamations of the Great Akhatist Hymn (626 B.C.) and the Aquileian version of the litany (8th century). Early patristic tradition established an opposition between Mary and Eve, the first woman, according to a soteriological perspective. However, it was not until the 4th century, in Efrem, that the contrast was extended to Eden, which surrounds Eve whereas it is embodied by Mary ľ see also Appiano Caprettini (1979). This successful association slowly disappeared during the western low middle ages as the cosmological function was replaced by the soteriological one in the Litany to the Virgin, following the model of the Litany to the Saints.

keywords: morphodynamics, morfodinamica, morfogenesi, diachronic change, diacronia, discursive configuration, configurazioni discorsive, figurativity, figurativitÓ, homologation, omologazione, litany, litanie

➞ PDF [645Kb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-33

citation information: Francesco Galofaro, Rosa Mystica: the Morphogenesis of the Rose, "Ocula", vol.21, July 2020. DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-33

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (UniversitÚ Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera UniversitÓ di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (UniversitÓ Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (UniversitÚ Paris 1, PanthÚon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Ruggero Eugeni (UniversitÓ Cattolica del Sacro Cuore , Milano)
Guido Ferraro (UniversitÓ di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (UniversitÓ di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (UniversitÓ di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (UniversitÓ di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (UniversitÓ di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (UniversitÓ di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (UniversitÓ La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (UniversitÓ di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (UniversitÚ de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Junji Tsuchiya (Waseda University, Tokio, Japan)
Alessandro Zinna (UniversitÚ de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it) from 2017

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna