home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

This article has been published in: Ocula 23, Flowers of the soul: The symbolism of flowers in the religious imagination

author: Massimo Leone (Dipartimento di filosofia e scienze dell'educazione, Università di Torino (IT); Dipartimento di Lingua e Letteratura Cinese, Università di Shanghai)

Cecidit flos: on the meaning of withered flowers

language: italian

publication date: July 2020

abstract: Isaiah 40: 6-8 contains the figure of the flower of the field, doomed to wither at the blowing of the divine breath. An immense exegetical tradition ensues, which comments on the ephemerality of any human distinction. This tradition intertwines, then, from the late Middle Ages on, with an equally abundant classical tradition, in Greek first, then in Latin, wherein the severed flower refers to the brutality of either war or love. Both traditions, the biblical and the classical one, merge in numerous literary texts, which multiply especially in early modernity. Drawing profusely from these textual series, the article seeks to seize in them some trends, in the frame of a semiotics of cultures, reading the figure of the flower through the methodology of generative semiotics.

keywords: fiore appassito, , bibbia, letteratura cristiana antica, letteratura medievale, letteratura rinascimentale, withered flower, bible, early christian literature, medieval literature, renaissance literature

➞ PDF [445Kb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-32

citation information: Massimo Leone, Cecidit flos: sul senso dei fiori appassiti, "Ocula", vol.21, July 2020. DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-32

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera Università di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (Università Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Ruggero Eugeni (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore , Milano)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (Università di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (Università di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (Università La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Junji Tsuchiya (Waseda University, Tokio, Japan)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it) from 2017

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna