home page
 
METADATA



This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

author: Ruggero Ragonese (Dipartimento di Comunicazione ed Economia, UniversitÓ di Modena e Reggio Emilia (IT); USAC University Reggio Emilia (IT))

Collapsing Architecture: Towers, Steeples, and Minarets as War Monuments

language: english

publication date: June 2020

abstract: Tower, Steeples and Minarets can be regarded in the context of an urban landscape: the meaning lies essentially in the upward movement. Vector-oriented constructions capable of arranging the urban space around it. At the same time, however, these buildings include inside various narrative programs: the architectural text presents itself to be read by those who encounter it. The question is whether it can imply an elementary narrative micro-universe. Can towers predict their collapse? This paper will focus on relationships between war and architecture, investigating how certain structures like towers and minarets have inside them specific programs of collapsing related to offences involving weapons.

keywords: towers, point of view, architecture, war memorials, urban studies

➞ PDF [321Kb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-23

citation information: Ruggero Ragonese, Collapsing Architecture: Towers, Steeples, and Minarets as War Monuments, "Ocula", vol.21, June 2020. DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-23

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (UniversitÚ Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera UniversitÓ di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (UniversitÓ Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (UniversitÚ Paris 1, PanthÚon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Ruggero Eugeni (UniversitÓ Cattolica del Sacro Cuore , Milano)
Guido Ferraro (UniversitÓ di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (UniversitÓ di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (UniversitÓ di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (UniversitÓ di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (UniversitÓ di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (UniversitÓ di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (UniversitÓ La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (UniversitÓ di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (UniversitÚ de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Junji Tsuchiya (Waseda University, Tokio, Japan)
Alessandro Zinna (UniversitÚ de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it) from 2017

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna