home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

This article has been published in: Ocula 22, Be cool. How a Cultural Icon is Born

author: Paolo Bertetti (Dipartimento di Scienze Sociali, Politiche, Cognitive, Università degli studi di Siena (IT))

The Invisible Icon. Big Brother from Fictional Icon to Cultural Icon

language: italian

publication date: April 2020

abstract: In George Orwell’s 1984, Big Brother is the inscrutable leader of Oceania. Thanks to his media pervasiveness, his image assumes, an iconic value, expression par excellence of control and power. However, he is an icon without reference: no one has ever really seen the Big Brother. He is a strongly iconic entity and at the same time he is not visible, perhaps not even existing: a mere representation of the apparatus of power. He is a fictional icon circulating first of all in the narrative universe of 1984. He emerges from the pages of the novel and becomes an icon (or meta-icon) also within contemporary culture: in the game of his translations across the media, through the reuses and reconfigurations to which he was subjected in the arts, in popular culture, even in advertising, the Orwellian character (or non-character) becomes the emblem of the vision: image of control and mass surveillance, but also - weakly - of spectator’s voyeurism (the TV program).

keywords: icona culturale, cultural icon, distopia, sorveglianza, controllo, george orwell, dystopia, surveillance, control,

➞ PDF [400Kb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-14

citation information: Paolo Bertetti, L’icona invisibile. Big Brother da icona finzionale a icona culturale, "Ocula", vol.21, April 2020. DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-14

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera Università di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (Università Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Ruggero Eugeni (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore , Milano)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (Università di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (Università di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (Università La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Junji Tsuchiya (Waseda University, Tokio, Japan)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it) from 2017

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna