home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

author: Giampaolo Proni (Dipartimento di Scienze per la Qualità della Vita, Università di Bologna (IT))

Is There Abduction in Aristotle? Peirce, Eco, and Some Further Remarks

language: english

publication date: December 2016

abstract: In several places of the Collected Papers , Peirce states that Abduction, or adoption of a Hypothesis, the form of inference he has discovered and described, could be found in Aristotle, though not fully developed. Umberto Eco (1983), investigates, following Peirce, the presence of abductive elements in Aristotle, and extends Peirce’s scope, finding more traces of hypothetical logic. The purpose of this article is to extend and refine the inquiry, trying to answer the question “Did Aristotle know Abductive reasoning?”

keywords: abduction, aristotle, peirce, eco, inference

➞ PDF [343Kb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula83

citation information: Giampaolo Proni, Is There Abduction in Aristotle? Peirce, Eco, and Some Further Remarks, "Ocula", vol.17, December 2016. DOI: 10.12977/ocula83

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it) from 2012 to 2017

Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna