home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

This article has been published in: Ocula 18, Street Art: Iconoclasm and Istitutionalization

author: Francesco Mazzucchelli (Università di Bologna (IT))

Street(icono)clashes. Blu vs. Genus Bononiae: a Case of Urban Iconoclasm

language: italian

publication date: September 2017

abstract: Moving from a perspective of semiotics of culture, the article investigates the events which accompanied Banksy and Co: Art in the Urban Form, the exhibition held in the City Museum of Bologna in May 2016, with a special attention to the reaction of the street artist Blu, who decided to erase all his street artworks in the city of Bologna. “Museum discourse” and “street discourse” are analyzed in a comparative and contrastive perspective, with the aim of understanding the interactions between different “discursive spaces” of the city in relation to diverse valorizations of the expressions of urban creativity.

keywords: street art, blu, #occupymordor, semiotica urbana, patrimonializzazione, iconoclastia, subculture, urban semiotics, heritageisation, iconoclasm

➞ PDF [2,340Mb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula75

citation information: Francesco Mazzucchelli, Street(icono)clashes. Blu vs. Genus Bononiae: un caso di iconoclastia urbana, "Ocula", vol.18, n.18, pp.22-42, September 2017. DOI: 10.12977/ocula75

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera Università di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (Università Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (Università di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (Università di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (Università La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it) from 2017
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it) from 2012 to 2017

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna