home page
 
METADATA


This article is an invited paper, subjected to open review by the Editors and/or the Editorial Board

This article has been published in: Ocula 17, One hundred and one years of Barthes (1915-2016)

author: Gianfranco Marrone (Dipartimento di Culture e Società, Università di Palermo (IT))

Towards a barthesian lexicon: first entries

language: italian

publication date: January 2016

abstract: In the following essay Gianfranco Marrone presents two entries from a more comprehensive work on Barthes’ lexicon: Work/Text and Obvious/Obtuse. In the first entry Marrone follows the intellectual process that led to a conceptual revolution in semiotic and literary research when Barthes moved from the traditional definition of the ‘work’ to that of the ‘text’. According to Barthes, the ‘text’ is a regulative hypothesis and a strategic category; it helps to overcome the separation between disciplines; and presupposes a practice of writing in which theory and subject tend to coincide. Is this distinction a well-established definitive result of semiotic research which began with Barthes? Or has this trend been inverted with a return to a focus on the ‘work’ rather than the ‘text’? Further issues are investigated under the entry Obvious/Obtuse, a Barthesian opposition firmly established within semiotic and film studies. The question of whether this distinction was an ad hoc theory applied solely to the few frames of Ejzenštejn’s films, or whether it can be extended to other texts and phenomena of sense, is still entirely open to discussion.

keywords: barthes, opera, testo, ovvio, ottuso

Ocula 17-Marrone ➞ PDF [1,705Mb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula54

citation information: Gianfranco Marrone, Verso un lessico barthesiano: prime voci, "Ocula", vol.17, n.17, January 2016. DOI: 10.12977/ocula54

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it) from 2012 to 2017

Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna