home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

This article has been published in: Ocula 15, Commemorating Charles S. Peirce (1839-1914): Interpretive Semiotics and Mass Media

author: Giacomo Festi (NABA, Nuova Accademia delle Belle Arti, Milano (IT))

Diffracted values of the sign in interface. Instagram and Flickr in the light of a Peircean re-reading

language: italian

publication date: November 2014

abstract: In a bid to actualize some aspects of Peirce’s thought for the analysis of cultural contemporary phenomena, this article tests a re-reading that crosses the Peircean approach with the semiotic proposals of Fontanille and Basso. The typology of signs from the Speculative Grammar is re-interpreted as a mapping of the modes by which a sign acquires a semantic value, in relation to, on the one hand, expression and content, and on the other to the different fields of experience where a sign is set (image, situation and culture). The resulting values are analytically tested by comparative contrast with two contemporary apps: Instagram and Flickr, dedicated to a cultural object that was dear to Peirce: photography. The application of filters and tags, in particular, stimulates the exploration of the range of semantic values signs assume around and inside the photographic object when set in an interface.

keywords: peirce, fotografia, segno, interfaccia, instagram, flickr, speculative grammar

OCULA-15-PEIRCE-Festi.pdf ➞ PDF [1,150Mb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula33

citation information: Giacomo Festi, Le valenze diffrante del segno in interfaccia. Instagram vs Flickr alla luce di una rilettura peirciana, "Ocula", vol.15, n.15, November 2014. DOI: 10.12977/ocula33

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it) from 2012 to 2017

Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna