home page
 
METADATI


Questo articolo è stato sottoposto a double blind peer review

Questo articolo è stato pubblicato in: Ocula 15, Commemorating Charles S. Peirce (1839-1914): Interpretive Semiotics and Mass Media

autore: Valerio De Michele (Università di Bologna (IT))

Note per una tipologia dicisegnica

lingua: italiano

data di pubblicazione: novembre 2014

abstract: In the Speculative Grammar, Charles Peirce proposes two types of Dicisigns: Indexical Dicisigns and Symbolic Dicisigns. Their structure seems to be a blueprint of the complete relatives introduced in the Logic of 1897. Indeed, in both cases we have an icon with blanks. An icon that shows in its full appearance the dent of a lack, the necessity to pertain to “another”. Thus Dicisigns present an iconic part (that appears as structurally independent and logically complete) on which an indexical part is grafted, exhibiting its own structural incompleteness, its necessity to pertain to another entity. As I understand them, the two typologies of Dicisigns correspond to two different ways of filling the indexical part of that deep structure. In Indexical Dicisigns, the indexical part is filled by making use of a semiosic unit also having an indexical nature. The Dicisign exhibits a predication that is applied to en entity which – in its turn – expresses itself, inside the Sign, in a symbolic mode. The Peircean model seems to be incomplete for two reasons: i) it focuses on the necessity to fill the indexical part of the sign, wholly neglecting the iconic one; ii) it focuses only on the indexical and symbolic filling of the indexical part, neglecting the possible iconic filling. Therefore i) I try to reduce the two typologies advanced by Peirce to a more general model, in which both the indexical and iconic parts of the Dicisign are considered and, moreover, ii) I try to fill all their possible blanks: iconic, indexical and symbolic. From the combination thereof we are able to obtain nine different typologies of Dicisigns.

keywords: peirce, dicisegno, icona, indice, simbolo, speculative grammar

OCULA-15-PEIRCE-DeMIchele.pdf ➞ PDF [316Kb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula31

citazione: Valerio De Michele, Note per una tipologia dicisegnica, "Ocula", vol.15, n.15, novembre 2014. DOI: 10.12977/ocula31

  

 

Ocula.it pubblica saggi di ricerca semiotica, in particolare applicata alla comunicazione e alla cultura, è aperta al dialogo con altri campi di ricerca e accoglie contributi che provengono da ogni ambito delle scienze umane e sociali.

Comitato Scientifico

Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Redazione

Coordinatore redazionale: Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it) from 2012 to 2017

Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
Puoi contribuire alle nostre attività con una donazione compiuta in modo sicuro via carta di credito o PayPal








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula aderisce ai principi della Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula è indicizzato da Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) e Google Scholar

I contenuti di questo sito sono rilasciati secondo la formula di licenza Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it è pubblicato da Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna