home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

author: Walter Di Martino (Independent researcher)

The voice of the leader

language: italian

publication date: January 2014

abstract: The article analyses the role of the leader's voice in contemporary politics. Emphasis is given to the relational nature and ability to create a process of empathy that are crucial for building leadership and consensus. Vocal properties, i.e. those that belong to the voice regardless of the language, are at the root of identification processes by which the leader becomes subject of the personal impressions that other individuals have of him, and that therefore determine his chances of success. If, in a pre-media context, the voice is an accessory element that disappears behind the representative role reminiscent of Kantorowicz, with the advent and spread of electronic media it becomes an index of the leader's corporality and uniqueness able to re-enact his story upon each verbal utterance.

keywords: discorso politico, empatia, voce, percezione, corpo, leader

OCULA-FLUX-DiMartino.pdf ➞ PDF [911Kb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula60

citation information: Walter Di Martino, La voce del leader, "Ocula", vol.15, January 2014. DOI: 10.12977/ocula60

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it) from 2012 to 2017

Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna