home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

This article has been published in: Ocula 14, Visible Cities. In Memory of Giovanna Franci

authors: Federico Montanari (Dipartimento di Comunicazione ed Economia, Università di Modena e Reggio Emilia (IT)) and Luca Frattura (Centro Universitario Bolognese di Etnosemiotica (CUBE), Bologna (IT))

Mapping Cities: the Bologna Self-Mapping Project

language: english

publication date: December 2013

abstract: Today, great transformations involve maps of cities and urban spaces. Everybody knows that “mapping”, as a practice, has considerably evolved and represents now a universally shared and global experience, belonging, in everyday life, to the vast domain of popular culture (from Google maps, to gps and gis use in sports, holidays etc.).
Based on these considerations, we would like to present the results of the first part of the Self-mapping project, a research project initiated thanks to the University of Bo-logna’s public competition “topic ISA-2010”.
The project was designed to create a methodology for the analysis of urban space, attempting to include Gps tracking and ethno-semiotic methodologies. It regards the mapping of territories, intended to start in Bologna, with the idea of extending the research to other urban situations, including post conflict situation, such as in Kosovo and Bosnia.
The overall intention is to study the crossing of urban space by its inhabitants, fo-cusing on the comparison of maps, as potential tools for urban policy regarding new forms of knowledge, marketing of the city and territory, as well as a possible means of “good practices”.

keywords: mapping, città, urban space, spazialità, etnosemiotica, geografia, architettura

➞ PDF [4,825Mb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula24

citation information: Federico Montanari and Luca Frattura, Mapping Cities: the Bologna Self-Mapping Project, "Ocula", vol.14, n.14, December 2013. DOI: 10.12977/ocula24

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it) from 2012 to 2017

Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna