home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

This article has been published in: Ocula 13, Architecture and Political Discourse: crossing perspectives

author: Amedeo Trezza (Università di Napoli (IT))

Remains that render texts: the role of memory in a possible risemantization of places

language: italian

publication date: August 2012

abstract: Nowadays, after decades of countryside and agricultural soils abandonment, we are facing more and more some “re-functionalizing” choices. But they too often anticipate a radical loss of sense not followed by a recovery of memory and local identities.In other words, rural architecture and landscape texts are systematically replaced by paralyzing “museifications”, accompanied with an idea of “preservation” (with more or less “locked” parks and natural reserves); or by service/industrial aims, or, finally, by tourist based re-interpretations with mass consumerism intentions. Does a ‘fourth way’ exist which is able to offer a new possibility of meaning to these kinds of territorial texts, without mortifying their memory nor relegating them to a silent role or to “outdated” attitude? In this perspective of a new kind of possible recuperation, the role of Semiotics could consist in finding out emotional and cognitive valorizations of spatial articulation of sense, as well as vectorial concretions; where policy and architecture could be reciprocally
involved towards planning and managing of the territory. In this way the memory of what is left as a mark on the territory of a pre-existent order (already disappeared or disappearing) could offer suggestions to political debates about planning. In this manner a radical change of the study perspective could be achieved; for instance, manufactures should be assumed not merely as precipitates of ideologies and political strategies but in fact as expressive, material and concrete rests (concretions...) able to activate semiotic processes of recognizing identities and possibilities along with the opening of new meanings.

keywords: architettura, memoria, spazialità, landscape, rurality, memory, planning

Articolo di A. Trezza ➞ PDF [292Kb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula17

citation information: Amedeo Trezza, Resti che ritornano testi: il ruolo della memoria in una possibile risemantizzazione di luoghi., "Ocula", vol.13, August 2012. DOI: 10.12977/ocula17

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it) from 2012 to 2017

Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna