home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

This article has been published in: Ocula 24, Quando è design / When is design / Quand c'est du design

author: Alessandro Zinna (PROJEKT (EA 7447) Université de Nîmes, Université Toulouse - Jean Jaurès (UT2J))

The consequences of “when”. An archaeology of design: from prehistoric times to the Anthropocene

language: french

publication date: October 2020

abstract: The questioning of design by the“when” gives here the opportunity to reconstruct the guiding lines of an archaeology of the discipline in four steps: the prehistory, where the problems of cultural design are presented; the history, from the birth of the culture of design depending on its practice and research; the present, characterised by the opening to social innovation; and, finally, the future, which poses design in the face of climate change and the instabilities of the Anthropocene. This genealogy, by reconstructing the key concepts of design, shows that, at each stage, the answers to the question“when is design” change according to a process that opposes already stabilized solutions to the innovation of new inventions. This leads us today, facing the horizon of the Anthropocene, to replace the human-centred design aiming at improving the habitability of the world and the living conditions of a single species, by the future living-centred design aiming at the stability of the world and the permanence of the network of life.

keywords: design, epistemology of design, design faculty, design act, design of the living, design of the anthropocene, épistémologie du design, faculté de design, acte de design, design des vivants, design de l'anthropocène

➞ PDF [1,025Mb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-40

citation information: Alessandro Zinna, Les conséquences du “quand”. Une archéologie du design : de la préhistoire à l'Anthropocène, "Ocula", vol.21, n.24, October 2020. DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-40

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera Università di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (Università Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Ruggero Eugeni (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore , Milano)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (Università di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (Università di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (Università La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Junji Tsuchiya (Waseda University, Tokio, Japan)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it) from 2017

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna