home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

This article has been published in: Ocula 23, Flowers of the soul: The symbolism of flowers in the religious imagination

author: Gabriele Marino (Dipartimento di filosofia e scienze dell'educazione, Università di Torino (UNITO))

The hagiographic floral prosopope: the case of the Marian litany of flowers

language: italian

publication date: July 2020

abstract: The hagiographic floral prosopopoeia: The case of the ‘Marian litany of flowers’. The paper presents a brief and partial review of the trope of flower personification (prosopopoeia) within the Christian imagery, with specific reference to the saintly figures. Attention is focused on the particular case of the Litania mariana dei fiori (‘Marian Litany of flowers’) authored by sister Chiara Immacolata Trigilia, published in 2005, and on its webpage (2008) and YouTube (2009) renditions.

keywords: fiori, litanie, personificazione, santi cattolici, semiotica della cultura, catholic saints, cultural semiotics, flowers, litany, personification

➞ PDF [406Kb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-35

citation information: Gabriele Marino, La prosopopea floreale agiografica: il caso della Litania mariana dei fiori, "Ocula", vol.21, July 2020. DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-35

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera Università di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (Università Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Ruggero Eugeni (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore , Milano)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (Università di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (Università di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (Università La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Junji Tsuchiya (Waseda University, Tokio, Japan)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it) from 2017

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna