home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

This article has been published in: Ocula 23, Flowers of the soul: The symbolism of flowers in the religious imagination

author: Ilaria Sabbatini (SISMEL)

«Apple of Paradise»: the botanical descriptions in the pilgrimage diaries of the Florentine corpus between the thirteenth and fifteenth centuries

language: italian

publication date: July 2020

abstract: In the Florentine diaries of pilgrimages to the Holy Land, dated between the XIIIth and xvth centuries, nature is always ascribed a powerfully symbolic value. This has both a metaphorical dimension and a taxonomic approach that is derived from the influence of practical writings, such as family books. The plant species described by the Florentine diarists, even within this new naturalistic paradigm, continue to maintain the sense of wonder and miracle as if they were a tangible expression of a divine presence that animates places and nature.

keywords: banana, balsamo, diari di pellegrinaggio, pellegrini, storia, history, banana, balm, pilgrimage journals, pilgrims

➞ PDF [1,107Mb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-30

citation information: Ilaria Sabbatini, «Poma di paradiso»: le descrizioni botaniche nei diari di pellegrinaggio del corpus fiorentino tra XIII e XV secolo, "Ocula", vol.21, July 2020. DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-30

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera Università di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (Università Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Ruggero Eugeni (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore , Milano)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (Università di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (Università di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (Università La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Junji Tsuchiya (Waseda University, Tokio, Japan)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it) from 2017

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna