home page
 
METADATI


Questo articolo è stato sottoposto a double blind peer review

Questo artciolo è stato pubblicato in: Ocula 22, Be cool. Come nasce un'icona culturale

autori: Lucia Corrain (Dipartimento delle Arti, Alma Mater Studiorum, Università di Bologna (IT)) e Ottavia Mosca (Dipartimento delle Arti, Alma Mater Studiorum, Università di Bologna (IT))

David superstar. Guan Xiao e le icone nell’arte

lingua: italiano

data di pubblicazione: aprile 2020

abstract: It is enough to look around to be “touched” by an immense quantity of reproductions of works of art of every age and style. Not any image, but certain works that have become part of the collective imagination until they become true icons. What allows an image to become an icon? In the first analysis, the icon is characterized by a considerable media overexposure: extrapolated, decontextualized and re-proposed almost to infinity. One among many, the Leonardesque Mona Lisa: printed on a pillow as designed by the artist or on a cup in the guise of starfish Patrick, SpongeBob’s friend. No matter the verisimilitude with the original, it observes us with its enigmatic smile from an increasingly vast multitude of consumer objects. And it certainly isn’t the only one. Reflections like these are at the heart of the work David (presented at the Venice Biennale in 2017) by the Pekingese artist Guan Xiao. A three-channel video about the image of Michelangelo’s famous statue, its diffusion and its immoderate use in contemporary culture, from the perspective of a Chinese artist. Photographs and video clips taken from the web are assembled together and accompanied by the music of a synth-pop song, which recalls the melodies of the originary country of the same artist. Moreover, the work is literally “crossed” by synchronically sarcastic and profound phrases that offer a questioning of the exaggerated use of icons. A video, ultimately, capable of “talking” about the improper use of the icon through the icon of the David, so much abused that it – as Guan Xiao recites – “disappear”.

keywords: icona culturale, cultural icon, sparire, arte, david, michelangelo, guan xiao, banksy, blu, fabio viale, disappear, art

➞ PDF [3,519Mb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-19

citazione: Lucia Corrain e Ottavia Mosca, David superstar. Guan Xiao e le icone nell’arte, "Ocula", vol.21, aprile 2020. DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-19

  

 

Ocula.it pubblica saggi di ricerca semiotica, in particolare applicata alla comunicazione e alla cultura, è aperta al dialogo con altri campi di ricerca e accoglie contributi che provengono da ogni ambito delle scienze umane e sociali.

Comitato Scientifico

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera Università di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (Università Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Ruggero Eugeni (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore , Milano)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (Università di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (Università di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (Università La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Junji Tsuchiya (Waseda University, Tokio, Japan)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Redazione

Coordinatore redazionale: Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it) from 2017

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
Puoi contribuire alle nostre attività con una donazione compiuta in modo sicuro via carta di credito o PayPal








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula aderisce ai prinicpi della Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula è indicizzato da Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) e Google Scholar

I contenuti di questo sito sono rilasciati secondo la formula di licenza Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it è pubblicato da Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna