home page
 
METADATI


Questo articolo è stato sottoposto a double blind peer review

Questo artciolo è stato pubblicato in: Ocula 22, Be cool. Come nasce un'icona culturale

autore: Flavia Cavaliere (Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II (IT))

BECOMING MICHELLE, a Contemporary Cultural Icon. Decoding the Different Ways Leading from the South Side of Chicago to the White House

lingua: inglese

data di pubblicazione: aprile 2020

abstract: Mythological representations have always symbolically embodied human beings’ ancestral fears and wishes. Yet today the reading of the languages of new myths can convey the key to an understanding of the historical period we are living in. Nowadays one of the most popular cultural icons is Michelle Obama. First Afro-American FLOTUS, Michelle is still serving as a highly influential role-model, whose recently published autobiography, Becoming, is a record best-selling book. By drawing on the theoretical approach of Appraisal Framework (Martin and White 2007), I intend to investigate how her ‘becoming Michelle’ was accomplished. The AF explores the way language is used to evaluate and/or adopt stances and to construe textual personas, and how affective involvement can be conveyed through a set of indicators. Accordingly, qualitative examples are analysed to show how, in Michelle’s autobiography, the lexico-grammar options are significant in the process of the shaping of her status of a modern cultural icon.

keywords: icona culturale, cultural icon, michelle obama, autobiography, appraisal framework

➞ PDF [437Kb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-9

citazione: Flavia Cavaliere, BECOMING MICHELLE, a Contemporary Cultural Icon. Decoding the Different Ways Leading from the South Side of Chicago to the White House , "Ocula", vol.21, aprile 2020. DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-9

  

 

Ocula.it pubblica saggi di ricerca semiotica, in particolare applicata alla comunicazione e alla cultura, è aperta al dialogo con altri campi di ricerca e accoglie contributi che provengono da ogni ambito delle scienze umane e sociali.

Comitato Scientifico

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera Università di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (Università Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Ruggero Eugeni (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore , Milano)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (Università di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (Università di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (Università La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Junji Tsuchiya (Waseda University, Tokio, Japan)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Redazione

Coordinatore redazionale: Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it) from 2017

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
Puoi contribuire alle nostre attività con una donazione compiuta in modo sicuro via carta di credito o PayPal








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula aderisce ai prinicpi della Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula è indicizzato da Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) e Google Scholar

I contenuti di questo sito sono rilasciati secondo la formula di licenza Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it è pubblicato da Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna