home page
 
METADATI


Questo articolo è stato sottoposto a double blind peer review

Questo artciolo è stato pubblicato in: Ocula 22, Be cool. Come nasce un'icona culturale

autore: Giuseppe Balirano (Dipartimento di Studi Letterari, Linguistici e Comparati, Università degli Studi di Napoli “L’Orientale”, Napoli (IT))

Of Rainbow Unicorns. The Role of Bonding Queer Icons in Contemporary LGBTIQ+ Re-Positionings

lingua: inglese

data di pubblicazione: aprile 2020

abstract: Over the years, queer icons have in the main displayed a dual yet conflicting function: that of cautiously dissimulating reality, while blatantly representing it. This ambiguous play, with its geographical limits and contextual caveats, has provided LGBTIQ+ communities with spaces for the re-appropriation and abrogation of a number of male hegemonic imperatives. This line of action has, however, led to an idiosyncratic positioning since such a political practice may merely represent another marginal stance due to the persisting relation to the hegemonic itself. This paper, while analysing the proliferation of so-called queer iconic objects, will discuss the emerging concept of ‘bonding icons’ and their inscription within an affiliation system as the active community enhancers of the new queer political agenda. The resulting resemiotised discourses seem to re-construct the queer ‘other’ in various ways by reifying it into a similar and relatable ‘other’ whose iconicity is able to provide reassurance and validation while evoking universal empathetic alignment.

keywords: icona culturale, cultural icon, icone queer, bonding queer icons, sistemi di affiliazione, linguistica sistemico-funzionale, coupling, affiliation systems, systemic functional linguistics,

➞ PDF [905Kb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-7

citazione: Giuseppe Balirano, Of Rainbow Unicorns. The Role of Bonding Queer Icons in Contemporary LGBTIQ+ Re-Positionings, "Ocula", vol.21, aprile 2020. DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-7

  

 

Ocula.it pubblica saggi di ricerca semiotica, in particolare applicata alla comunicazione e alla cultura, è aperta al dialogo con altri campi di ricerca e accoglie contributi che provengono da ogni ambito delle scienze umane e sociali.

Comitato Scientifico

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera Università di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (Università Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Ruggero Eugeni (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore , Milano)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (Università di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (Università di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (Università La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Junji Tsuchiya (Waseda University, Tokio, Japan)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Redazione

Coordinatore redazionale: Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it) from 2017

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
Puoi contribuire alle nostre attività con una donazione compiuta in modo sicuro via carta di credito o PayPal








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula aderisce ai prinicpi della Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula è indicizzato da Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) e Google Scholar

I contenuti di questo sito sono rilasciati secondo la formula di licenza Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it è pubblicato da Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna