home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

This article has been published in: Ocula 21, Geosemiotics: from locative media to diffused images, big and small data

author: Bruno Surace (Università di Torino (IT))

Visors and chickens in the Web of Beings. Second Livestock between goliards, semiotics and philosophy

language: italian

publication date: December 2019

abstract: Second Livestock is the pioneering invention of Austin Stewart, of Iowa State University. It is a viewer for hens, connected to an insulating cabin, which would introduce the latter into a decidedly better virtual world than the one in which they are forced on intensive farms. Of this invention there are only botched traces -images, texts, an introductory video - in a dedicated website, and everything suggests that it is a joke, or more precisely an artistic exercise aimed at polemizing the conditions of farmed poultry. In this essay however we treat Second Livestock deliberately as a realistic prototype, investigating the specificities of animal-centered-design and the
relative contradictions of this paradigm. Second Livestock is analyzed starting from what the project is given to us in textual terms, and at the same time the semiotic analysis is flanked by all the philosophical and ethical problems that arise. The analysis can tell us many things about the current state of the debate on the animal condition, the relationship between technology and ideology, the status and the imagery connected
to the geo-media. The result is a new paradigm of reading of the current media society, which is no longer the exclusive one of the web of things, but which we rename, in the light of the observations made, web of beings.

keywords: geosemiotica, geosemiotics, second livestock, virtual reality, semiotica dei media, web of beings, animal centered design, media semiotics

➞ PDF [487Kb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula2019-22

citation information: Bruno Surace, Visori e galline nel Web of Beings. Second Livestock fra goliardia, semiologia e filosofia, "Ocula", vol.20, n.21, pp.56-70, December 2019. DOI: 10.12977/ocula2019-22

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera Università di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (Università Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Ruggero Eugeni (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore , Milano)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (Università di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (Università di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (Università La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Junji Tsuchiya (Waseda University, Tokio, Japan)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it) from 2017

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna