home page
 
METADATI



Questo articolo è stato sottoposto a double blind peer review

autori: Jenny Ponzo (Department of Philosophy and Educational Sciences, University of Turin (IT)) e Eleonora Rai (Faculty of Theology and Religious Studies, KU Leuven (BE))

Heroicity and sanctity in Catholic thought from early modern to contemporary age

lingua: inglese

data di pubblicazione: dicembre 2019

abstract: In the Catholic Church’s regulation, the heroic practice of virtues is one of the main criteria for the canonisation of saints. This article explores the complex concept of heroicity as it is used both in normative-theological literature and in texts regulating the judicial practice of causes for canonisation. Particular attention is paid to the evolution of the idea between early modern formulations (with a focus on Prospero Lambertini’s seminal work) and its 20th-century re-elaboration, before and after the Second Vatican Council. Analysis integrates the historical perspective with a method based on semiotic theories. It looks into the meaning, values, and qualities associated to heroicity over the centuries, and points out changes in the aspectuality, semiotic axiology, ideas of gradualness, and personal maturation associated to this multifaceted concept. It thus highlights and contextualizes continuities and discontinuities within the Church’s teaching and judicial practice concerning the saints’ heroicity.

keywords: canonisation, heroicity, heroic virtues, aspectuality, narrative program, sanctity, second vatican council, lambertini

OCULA-FluxSaggi-PONZO-RAI-Heroicity-and-sanctity-in-catholic-thought-from-early-modern-to.pdf ➞ PDF [428Kb]

citazione: Jenny Ponzo e Eleonora Rai, Heroicity and sanctity in Catholic thought from early modern to contemporary age, "Ocula", vol.20, dicembre 2019.

  

 

Ocula.it pubblica saggi di ricerca semiotica, in particolare applicata alla comunicazione e alla cultura, è aperta al dialogo con altri campi di ricerca e accoglie contributi che provengono da ogni ambito delle scienze umane e sociali.

Comitato Scientifico

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera Università di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (Università Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Ruggero Eugeni (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore , Milano)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (Università di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (Università di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (Università La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Junji Tsuchiya (Waseda University, Tokio, Japan)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Redazione

Coordinatore redazionale: Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it) from 2017 to 2019

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
Puoi contribuire alle nostre attività con una donazione compiuta in modo sicuro via carta di credito o PayPal








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula aderisce ai principi della Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula è indicizzato da Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) e Google Scholar

I contenuti di questo sito sono rilasciati secondo la formula di licenza Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it è pubblicato da Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna