home page
 
METADATI



Questo articolo è stato sottoposto a double blind peer review

autori: Eleonora Federici (University of Naples, L’Orientale - IT), Emanuela Ammendola (University of Naples, Parthenope - IT) e Luisa Marino (University of Naples, L’Orientale - IT)

Disney is a Gendered World. How a Little Mermaid Becomes a Sirenetta

lingua: inglese

data di pubblicazione: dicembre 2019

abstract: Children’s literature is a breeding ground for translation and adaptation; this is demonstrated by the great amount of animated movies inspired by children’s books, where characters coming from literary fairy tales often reappear changed in their multimodal versions. The article aims at analysing the intersemiotic translation of Hans Christian Andersen’s The Little Marmaid from literature to the screen, focusing in particular on the process of Disneyfication the literary fairy tale underwent in order to become a blockbuster. Moreover, the article draws attention to the process of dubbing dialogues and songs in the Italian La Sirenetta showing how it perpetuates sterotyping gender roles.

keywords: literature, children’s literature, little mermaid, adaptation, disney, audiovisual translation

OCULA-FluxSaggi-FEDERICI-AMMENDOLA-MARINO-Disney-is-a-gendered-world.pdf ➞ PDF [390Kb]

citazione: Eleonora Federici, Emanuela Ammendola e Luisa Marino, Disney is a Gendered World. How a Little Mermaid Becomes a Sirenetta, "Ocula", vol.20, dicembre 2019.

  

 

Ocula.it pubblica saggi di ricerca semiotica, in particolare applicata alla comunicazione e alla cultura, è aperta al dialogo con altri campi di ricerca e accoglie contributi che provengono da ogni ambito delle scienze umane e sociali.

Comitato Scientifico

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera Università di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (Università Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Ruggero Eugeni (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore , Milano)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (Università di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (Università di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (Università La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Junji Tsuchiya (Waseda University, Tokio, Japan)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Redazione

Coordinatore redazionale: Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it) from 2017 to 2019

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
Puoi contribuire alle nostre attività con una donazione compiuta in modo sicuro via carta di credito o PayPal








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula aderisce ai principi della Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula è indicizzato da Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) e Google Scholar

I contenuti di questo sito sono rilasciati secondo la formula di licenza Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it è pubblicato da Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna