home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

author: Eduardo Grillo (Università di Siena (IT))

The Utopia of Communication: cybernetics and informal art

language: italian

publication date: November 2017

abstract: Philippe Breton’s appealing theory (L’utopie de la communication) places the birth of the communication society in the Forties of the last century, and recognises it as a post-traumatic value, come to light following the horrors of World War II. The cybernetic scientists, Breton’s book main characters, actually insisted on proposing a notion of information which is able to reduce the communication ambiguities. The model is the machine, indifferent towards the irrational tendencies of humans. The man itself needs to become transparent and fully communicating in order to guarantee the social self-regulation. Informal artists are motivated by the same concerns and by the same interest in communication, but through the expression of an alternative model: the conversation – actually an indefinite and informal form. The uncertain and vague artistic forms of the period can be seen as an invitation to an open dialogue. As long as the typical utopian season of the immediate post-war period lasted, communication has been inserted within the production process and put at the consumer culture disposal. Then the informal disappeared, replaced by Pop Art, which has put under the spotlight the new protagonists of history: the serial object and our relationship with it.

keywords: post wwii, informal art, utopia, communication, conversational model

➞ PDF [322Kb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula84

citation information: Eduardo Grillo, L’utopia della comunicazione: cibernetica e arte informale, "Ocula", vol.18, November 2017. DOI: 10.12977/ocula84

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera Università di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (Università Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (Università di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (Università di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (Università La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it) from 2017
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it) from 2012 to 2017

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna