home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

This article has been published in: Ocula 14, Visible Cities. In Memory of Giovanna Franci

author: Elena Granata (Dipartimento di Architettura e Studi urbani, Politecnico di Milano (IT))

The gaze and what it looks at. Interpreting, exploring and recognising the signs of the world

language: italian

publication date: December 2013

abstract: The observation of the world is not a naive and spontaneous practice, but it depends on our culture: we see only what we know. On the other hand, our knowledge comes from experience and observation of the world: we know only what we see. The Act of Looking is not only perception but is interwoven with the experience, the history and the memory of human beings, giving rise to a complex experience, where there are no rules and where to see means to be constantly surprised by something. What I see, therefore, depends also on my knowledge and on my sensitive education. A perceptive eye should be educated, in order to be able of watching and recognizing in the material forms of the city a plot composed by the rules, the history, the evolution of society, the imprint of the economy. An educated and cultivated eye can increase our vision, provided that it always knows how to surrender to surprise and emotion, leaving room for unexpected details.

keywords: esplorazione, lettura, città, geografia, architettura

➞ PDF [193Kb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula22

citation information: Elena Granata, Lo sguardo e quello che guarda. Leggere, esplorare e riconoscere i segni del mondo, "Ocula", vol.14, December 2013. DOI: 10.12977/ocula22

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it) from 2012 to 2017

Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna