home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

This article has been published in: Ocula 14, Visible Cities. In Memory of Giovanna Franci

author: Federico Boni (Scienze Politiche-Università di Milano (IT))

Form follows fiction. Architecture between movie make-believe and tourist practice

language: italian

publication date: December 2013

abstract: The article debates a double dimension of architecture: the "real" - how the buildings have been built and how they appear to us - and the "imaginary" - buildings considered as objects of "imaginary tales", cinema or television, where their use is mediated by the viewer’s gaze. Nevertheless, a viewer can become an user of the "real" architectural spaces reaching them in a kind of "pilgrimage." The core of the article is "film tourism" architecture, considered as a "double vision" (the media viewer and the on-site tourist) of the architectural object. This in turn addresses another "double gaze": that of sociology and that of semiotics. In particular, the analysis will focus on two Italian architectural objects, the Royal Palace and the Villa del Balbianello (Lake Como). These are two locations of the first two films of the new Star Wars trilogy, a postmodern fable allowing cinema tourists to articulate its sense intervening in one of its main morphological aspects, the architectural one

keywords: cineturismo, architettura, media, pellegrinaggio, geografia, città

OCULA-14-BONI-Form-follows-fiction.pdf ➞ PDF [220Kb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula21

citation information: Federico Boni, Form follows fiction. L’architettura tra finzione cinematografica e pratica turistica, "Ocula", vol.14, n.14, December 2013. DOI: 10.12977/ocula21

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it) from 2012 to 2017

Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna