home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

This article has been published in: Ocula 13, Architecture and Political Discourse: crossing perspectives

author: Eleonora Diamanti (Université du Québec à Montréal (CA))

Urban Practices between Politics and Architecture. Semiotic analysis of Saint-Laurent Boulevard, Montréal

language: french

publication date: August 2012

abstract: The relationship between politics and architecture is a complex and fundamental issue in understanding the urban and social fabric of cities. Moreover, architectural artefacts constitute symbolic forms inscribing political choices on space. However, it is further complicated by urban practices – or the users’ experience – which intervene and take part in the creation of meaning re-semanticizing and reinterpreting political wills and architectural forms. From a semiotic perspective, my aim is to highlight the active role of semiotic practices which influence the link
between politics and architecture and its complex connection to the society and culture to which they belong. In doing so, I will take the example of Montréal, the biggest and most important French-speaking city in North America, referring to the heritage of colonial politics and the modern multicultural tendencies. In particular, I will study Saint-Laurent Boulevard, one of the most important and symbolic streets of the city. The research will focus on two aspects: urban projects and toponyms linked to the political interventions in architecture but also the use and re-interpretation of politics and spaces accomplished by urban practices.

keywords: spazi urbani, architettura, urban space, semiotic practices, architecture, montréal

Articolo di E. Diamanti ➞ PDF [1,507Mb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula13

citation information: Eleonora Diamanti, Pratiques urbaines entre politique et architecture. Analyse sémiotique du boulevard Saint-Laurent, Montréal, "Ocula", vol.13, n.13, August 2012. DOI: 10.12977/ocula13

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it) from 2012 to 2017

Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna