home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

This article has been published in: Ocula 13, Architecture and Political Discourse: crossing perspectives

author: Pierluigi Cervelli (UniversitÓ di Roma La Sapienza (IT))

Security Policies and Forms of Control. A semiotic perspective

language: italian

publication date: August 2012

abstract: The aim of this article is to reflect on the political control of urban space and population mobility, particularly in relation to government measures and regulations governing the management of the hosting camps of the Rom and Sinti within the Municipality of Rome (the so-called "solidarity villages"). To this end, the article develops as a discourse analysis of the number of documents and regulations passed by the Berlusconi government, part of which wasrejected by the Italian
Council of State (November 2011). The thesis of the article is that the new regulations of Rom camps are designed to control the movement of Rom and Sinti, who live in them, however, with the explicit aim of preventing permanent accommodation to people housed in them. From this point of view, the article argues that the measures analyzed create nomadism who declare to be reason to their own needs. The conclusions of the work finally supports the actuality of the reflections on security proposed by Michel Foucault (2004), showing how they can be applied to new fields of research interacting with the concepts and methods of semiotic analysis.

keywords: architettura, discorso politico, controllo, spazi urbani, political discourse, rom and sinti, urban space, security

Articolo di P. Cervelli ➞ PDF [258Kb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula11

citation information: Pierluigi Cervelli, Politiche della sicurezza e forme del controllo. Una prospettiva semiotica, "Ocula", vol.13, n.13, August 2012. DOI: 10.12977/ocula11

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Anne Beyaert-Geslin (UniversitÚ Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Guido Ferraro (UniversitÓ di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (UniversitÓ di Bologna)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (UniversitÓ di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Susan Petrilli (UniversitÓ di Bari)
Maria Pia Pozzato (UniversitÓ di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (UniversitÚ de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Alessandro Zinna (UniversitÚ de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it) from 2012 to 2017

Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna