home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

This article has been published in: Ocula 12, Alibi: an Approach to the Semiotics of Travel

author: William Vastarella (Università di Bari (IT))

Erring is Human

language: italian

publication date: March 2012

abstract: Travel and music are variations on a potential difference; some of Propp's (1928) categories can be applied to the analysis of a trip seen as a narrative.
The travel is a communication process: the sender is the starting place, the addressee is the place of arrival, the message is the traveller, the channel is the means of transportation, the code is the map, the context is the landscape or the territory (Jakobson 1956).
Erring is the essence of traveling, forgetting the end. Organized tourism, which offers the experience of moving without getting lost, and wandering, that is getting lost without moving, are the twin poles of the antinomy of travel with respect to the noise, the de-viation, to be kept in balance.
The bridge is the metaphor of travel, which is the metaphor of the metaphor (trans-porting): in the place where I arrive I find another aspect of the place I came from. Displacing of senses.
The landscape is the summary of the trip, and we travellers-readers give it every time a new sense, interpreting and assembling what has been written for us with what has not. We look from above at the route we wound, looking for the traces of ourselves, the balance of our being.

keywords: viaggio, turismo, letteratura di viaggio, errare, rumore, metafora, jakobson, panorama

➞ PDF [207Kb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula7

citation information: William Vastarella, Errare è umano, "Ocula", vol.13, n.12, March 2012. DOI: 10.12977/ocula7

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it) from 2012 to 2017

Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna