home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

This article has been published in: Ocula 25, Gender, genres and generations. A sociological analysis on changes of consumption styles in the globalised world: current scenarios and future perspectives

authors: Jillet Sarah Sam (Humanities and Social Sciences, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, IND), Piergiorgio Degli Esposti (Sociologia e Diritto dell’Economia, Università di Bologna, Bologna, IT ) and Brian Gomes (Humanities and Social Sciences, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, IND)

The elderly collaborative user in platform societies. A comparative study between India and Italy

language: english

publication date: June 2021

abstract: In this paper, we examine the figure of the elderly prosumers as they are located in the emerging platform societies of India and Italy. Recently, sociological literature has observed the growing significance given to the elderly as active consumers in consumer society in India and in Italy. In contrast, at present we do not know much about the practices of the elderly as prosumers, particularly in urban areas.
While discussions of the sharing economy envision a particular type of collaborative consumption, they are still working with the assumption that the fundamental unit is an individual with dedicated and autonomous access to platforms and devices. This assumption, however, is in stark contrast to the multiple empirical incidences where technology is used in a shared manner. Such shared use has been extensively documented in non-Western contexts, although the gerontological literature also indicates that similar practices (such as ‘proxy use’) have also been documented in Western countries. Shared use may be especially pertinent to older users who rely on it to either learn anew or to navigate technology due to their health or cultural preferences.
Consequently, this paper proposes the concept of collaborative use to understand the varied manner in which devices and platforms are shared in platform economies. The paper draws on ethnographic data to understand how the elderly use platforms in one non-Western city (Kolkata, India) and one Western city (Bologna, Italy). The paper found that the elderly in both cities actively engaged in platforms through collaborative use practices such as use on behalf and use of shared accounts. In the Indian case, such collaborative use also occurred through the shared use of devices and the interlinking of platforms. Based on the extent and variety of collaborative use documented, this paper argues that this type of use should be considered as a precursor and also as an important contemporary aspect of the sharing economy. The survey and the data are also part of the broader project Evolution of consumer behavior. The impact of digitalization and cryptocurrency upon consumption practices, a comparative study between Italy and India digital, between the Department of Sociology and Business Law University of Bologna - Italy and Department of Humanities and Social Sciences Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur - India, with the main objective to observe the approach to the digitisation processes of consumption and forms of payment of different generational cohorts analysed on the basis of socio-demographic and gender variables, through a comparative analysis of two local contexts.

keywords: platform, digital elder, collaborative use, use on behalf, shared use

OCULA-25-SAM-DEGLIESPOSTI-GOMES-The-elderly-collaborative-user-in-platform-societies.pdf ➞ PDF [808Kb]

citation information: Jillet Sarah Sam, Piergiorgio Degli Esposti and Brian Gomes, The elderly collaborative user in platform societies. A comparative study between India and Italy, "Ocula", vol.22, n.25, pp.145-175, June 2021.

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera Università di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (Università Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Ruggero Eugeni (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore , Milano)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (Università di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (Università di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (Università La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Junji Tsuchiya (Waseda University, Tokio, Japan)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com) from 2020
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it) from 2020

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna