home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

This article has been published in: Ocula 23, Flowers of the soul: The symbolism of flowers in the religious imagination

author: Magdalena Maria Kubas (Dipartimento di filosofia e scienze dell'educazione, Università di Torino.)

Maria and the flowers: lauda and litany in the thirteenth century

language: italian

publication date: July 2020

abstract: In the present paper we analyze two early Marian litanies and a number of laudas dating back to the period of the Origini. We will focus on texts dated between the 13th and the early 14th century. At this initial stage, the spiritual poetry written in the vernacular languages of northern and central Italy presents a strong link with certain Marian prayers, such as both Letaniae Beatae Mariae Virginis and Litany of Loreto. We will analyze then a group of laudas: Rayna possentissima and two texts by Bonvesin da la Riva, to complete with a close reading of a group of Marian laudas from the Laudario di Cortona. Flowers as Marian symbols are enriched in details between the first litanies and the laudas. As the lauda is primarily an oral genre, Marian antonomasias have a prosodic function – they constitute metric units that are easy to be memorized. This helped the spreading of that poetry as a form of vernacular prayer in a period in which the official language of the Church was Latin, known by few and unfamiliar to the masses of the faithful.

keywords: lauda, litanie, fiori, semantica mariana, rosa, viola, giglio, lauda, litany, flowers, marian semantics, rose, viola, lily

➞ PDF [341Kb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-34

citation information: Magdalena Maria Kubas, Maria e i fiori, lauda e litania nel Duecento, "Ocula", vol.21, July 2020. DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-34

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera Università di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (Università Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Ruggero Eugeni (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore , Milano)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (Università di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (Università di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (Università La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Junji Tsuchiya (Waseda University, Tokio, Japan)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it) from 2017

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna