home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

This article has been published in: Ocula 23, Flowers of the soul: The symbolism of flowers in the religious imagination

author: Ugo Volli (Università di Torino)

The Rose of Sharon: flowers and plants in the ancient Jewish tradition

language: italian

publication date: July 2020

abstract: La Torà (il Pentateuco) è ambientato nel deserto: fiori e frutta sono oggetti rari, poco presenti nella vita quotidiana, ma ricchi di bellezza, di profumo, di seduzione. Nella narrazione essi non compaiono quasi mai come semplici oggetti, ma sono sempre investiti di valori connotativi. Così il frutto dell’Eden, descritto come “buono da mangiare, piacevole a vedersi e desiderabile”. Così il fiore disputato fra le due spose di Giacobbe in cambio di una notte d’amore col marito. Così il progetto floreale del candelabro nel Tabernacolo, destinato ad ardere davanti al Sancta Sanctorum. Così infine la ricca metaforica di fiori e frutta nel “Cantico dei cantici”, usata per rappresentare bellezza e fascino degli amanti, e ulteriormente metaforizzata nella lettura allegorica della vicenda. Il Talmud, soprattutto nel Trattato “Berakhot” si sforza di sistematizzare la materia, interrogandosi su che cosa siano alberi e che cosa erbe, quali siano i profumi e come ci si debba rapportare ad essi.

keywords: fiori, cantico dei cantici, Menorah, giglio, rosa, flowers, song of songs, menorah, lily, rose

➞ PDF [392Kb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-28

citation information: Ugo Volli, La rosa di Sharon: fiori e piante nella tradizione ebraica antica, "Ocula", vol.21, July 2020. DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-28

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera Università di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (Università Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Ruggero Eugeni (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore , Milano)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (Università di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (Università di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (Università La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Junji Tsuchiya (Waseda University, Tokio, Japan)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it) from 2017

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna