home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

This article has been published in: Ocula 22, Be cool. How a Cultural Icon is Born

author: Ilaria Ventura Bordenca (Dipartimento Culture e Società, Università degli studi di Palermo (IT))

Can Packaging be a Cultural Icon? Processes of Meaning and Intertextual Mechanisms

language: italian

publication date: April 2020

abstract: This paper analyses product packaging as cultural icons that condense and spread socio-cultural values. Some global brand’s packs became unmistakable signs of those brands (take the contour bottle of Coca-Cola or the Nutella jar) but also objects able to communicate consumption values, cultural habits and collective usages. Through the analysis of some case studies from the fields of branding and marketing, this paper aims at investigating the semiotic processes that transform packaging from commercial and common objects to cultural icons. The main idea is that intermedial translations and interdiscoursive migrations are the fundamental mechanisms involved in this processes of iconization (with specific packaging items moving from the field of branding to those of arts, music, movies, design, fashion).

keywords: icona culturale, cultural icon, packaging, intertestualità, traduzione, brand, visualità, intertestuality, translation, visuality

➞ PDF [3,806Mb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-20

citation information: Ilaria Ventura Bordenca, Il packaging come icona culturale? Processi di significazione e meccanismi intertestuali, "Ocula", vol.21, n.22, pp.287-312, April 2020. DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-20

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera Università di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (Università Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Ruggero Eugeni (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore , Milano)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (Università di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (Università di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (Università La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Junji Tsuchiya (Waseda University, Tokio, Japan)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it) from 2017

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna