home page
 
METADATI


Questo articolo è stato sottoposto a double blind peer review

Questo artciolo è stato pubblicato in: Ocula 21, Geosemiotica: dai locative media, alle immagini diffuse, ai big e small data

autore: Bruno Surace (Università di Torino (IT))

Visori e galline nel Web of Beings. Second Livestock fra goliardia, semiologia e filosofia

lingua: italiano

data di pubblicazione: dicembre 2019

abstract: Second Livestock is the pioneering invention of Austin Stewart, of Iowa State University. It is a viewer for hens, connected to an insulating cabin, which would introduce the latter into a decidedly better virtual world than the one in which they are forced on intensive farms. Of this invention there are only botched traces -images, texts, an introductory video - in a dedicated website, and everything suggests that it is a joke, or more precisely an artistic exercise aimed at polemizing the conditions of farmed poultry. In this essay however we treat Second Livestock deliberately as a realistic prototype, investigating the specificities of animal-centered-design and the
relative contradictions of this paradigm. Second Livestock is analyzed starting from what the project is given to us in textual terms, and at the same time the semiotic analysis is flanked by all the philosophical and ethical problems that arise. The analysis can tell us many things about the current state of the debate on the animal condition, the relationship between technology and ideology, the status and the imagery connected
to the geo-media. The result is a new paradigm of reading of the current media society, which is no longer the exclusive one of the web of things, but which we rename, in the light of the observations made, web of beings.

keywords: geosemiotica, geosemiotics, second livestock, virtual reality, semiotica dei media, web of beings, animal centered design, media semiotics

➞ PDF [487Kb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula2019-22

citazione: Bruno Surace, Visori e galline nel Web of Beings. Second Livestock fra goliardia, semiologia e filosofia, "Ocula", vol.20, dicembre 2019. DOI: 10.12977/ocula2019-22

  

 

Ocula.it pubblica saggi di ricerca semiotica, in particolare applicata alla comunicazione e alla cultura, è aperta al dialogo con altri campi di ricerca e accoglie contributi che provengono da ogni ambito delle scienze umane e sociali.

Comitato Scientifico

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera Università di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (Università Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Ruggero Eugeni (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore , Milano)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (Università di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (Università di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (Università La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Junji Tsuchiya (Waseda University, Tokio, Japan)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Redazione

Coordinatore redazionale: Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it) from 2017

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
Puoi contribuire alle nostre attività con una donazione compiuta in modo sicuro via carta di credito o PayPal








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula aderisce ai prinicpi della Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula è indicizzato da Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) e Google Scholar

I contenuti di questo sito sono rilasciati secondo la formula di licenza Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it è pubblicato da Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna