home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

This article has been published in: Ocula 18, Street Art: Iconoclasm and Istitutionalization

author: Julien Thiburce (Laboratoire ICAR, Université Lumière Lyon 2 (FR))

Pay your Museum! Street Art and Cultural (re)Mediation in Urban Space

language: french

publication date: September 2017

abstract: In this paper, we will approach the process of street art musealization with regard to its “mise en tension” and the constant reappropriation of urban discourses by public space users. Different statuses of public space will thus be highlighted, from a space of implementation to an object remediated by Street Art. The latter will be seen as much as an art in the street as an art of the street linked to other languages (architecture, urbanism, signalization, etc.). We will then try to demonstrate that Street Art involves an urban dialogism and values that require an ecological approach to semiotic practices.

keywords: street art, appropriation, urban dialogism, space of implementation, musealization, appropriation, dialogisme urbain, espace d’implémentation, muséalisation, urban space

➞ PDF [1,874Mb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula78

citation information: Julien Thiburce, Paye ton musée ! Street art et (re)médiation culturelle en milieu urbain, "Ocula", vol.18, September 2017. DOI: 10.12977/ocula78

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera Università di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (Università Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (Università di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (Università di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (Università La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it) from 2017
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it) from 2012 to 2017

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna