home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

This article has been published in: Ocula 18, Street Art: Iconoclasm and Istitutionalization

author: Marco Mondino (Università di Palermo (IT))

Visual Collections in Urban Spaces: the Sites of Street Art in Paris

language: italian

publication date: September 2017

abstract: With its different forms, styles and ways of execution, Street Art is one of the visual culture languages that are now increasingly present in urban spaces. From a fleeting action that was often accomplished in an unauthorized manner, it has also established itself as an authorized practice, thus becoming an institutional instrument and a new way of visual redefinition of certain urban areas. The concept of Street Art is by no means unitary, but it could rather be seen as a complex and stratified communicative phenomenon that redefines itself by way of its specific modes of intervention in urban spaces. Starting from a series of observations and micro-analyses conducted in two urban areas of Paris the article considers the ways such artworks collect in certain areas as well as the visibility strategies and the effects of meaning determined by their presence.

keywords: street art, urban art, parigi, visual culture

➞ PDF [2,606Mb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula77

citation information: Marco Mondino, Collezioni visive negli spazi urbani: i luoghi della street art a Parigi, "Ocula", vol.18, n.18, pp.57-84, September 2017. DOI: 10.12977/ocula77

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera Università di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (Università Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (Università di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (Università di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (Università La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it) from 2017 to 2019
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it) from 2012 to 2017

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna