home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

author: Stefano Traini (Facoltà di Scienze della Comunicazione, Università di Teramo (IT))

La peste, il Covid e l’Umanità di fronte alla Natura. Rilettura semiotica dei capitoli XXXI e XXXII dei Promessi sposi

language: italian

publication date: February 2022

abstract: The article is a semiotic re-reading of chapters XXXI and XXXII of the Betrothed on the plague in relation to the Covid-19 pandemic. In the first part I focus on the lexical and semantic aspects of the plague’s description, with comparative references to the Covid, in order to evaluate the way in which the virus was thought, conceived, conceptualized. In the second part I focus – in a perspective of textual semiotics – on the plague’s narrative role, which gives – as a natural force – a decisive turn to the events and places man in a state of subordination in front of the nature and its manifestations. Manzoni, by bringing together his providentialist thinking and his Enlightenment attitude, weakens the actions of man with respect to the laws of nature, thus providing interesting suggestions for conceptually framing even the most modern pandemics.

keywords: Semiotics, Betrothed+Plague, Covid, Environmentalism

OCULA-FluxSaggi-TRAINI-La-peste-il-covid-e-lumanit-di-fronte-alla-natura-rilettura.pdf ➞ PDF [361Kb]

citation information: Stefano Traini, La peste, il Covid e l’Umanità di fronte alla Natura. Rilettura semiotica dei capitoli XXXI e XXXII dei Promessi sposi, "Ocula", vol.23, February 2022.

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera Università di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (Università Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Ruggero Eugeni (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore , Milano)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (Università di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (Università di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (Università La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Junji Tsuchiya (Waseda University, Tokio, Japan)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com) from 2020
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it) from 2020

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Marika Nesi Lammardo (marika.nesilammardo@doct.uliege.be)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna