home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

This article has been published in: Ocula 25, Gender, genres and generations. A sociological analysis on changes of consumption styles in the globalised world: current scenarios and future perspectives

authors: Francesca Bianchi (Dipartimento di scienze della formazione scienze umane e della Comunicazione Interculturale, Università di Siena, IT), Alessandra Romano (Dipartimento di scienze della formazione scienze umane e della Comunicazione Interculturale, Università di Siena, IT) and Mario Giampaolo (Dipartimento di scienze della formazione scienze umane e della Comunicazione Interculturale, Università di Siena, IT)

Gender and technology: perspectives of meaning and preconceptions of future socio-pedagogical professional educators

language: italian

publication date: June 2021

abstract: The contribution presents the reflections on the relationship between gender and ICT of female students of a degree course in education and training sciences. What kind of representations future educators have about the social category of gender? In particular, which meaning perspectives do they have with respect to the female presence in the ICT field? What types of distortions characterize their narratives? To answer these questions, students’ posts in an online awareness development group were analyzed (Gaggioli et al., 2020). The issues emerging from the analysis testify the presence of a patriarchal vision in the work and social context linked to ICT and that the distortions relating to gender concern not only the sphere of ICT but also the whole theme of work within their family. Frequent is the use of the construct of ‘gender positioning’ also in the technological field and the influence of socialization agents in the creation of a relationship with ICT. Finally, there is a strong idea of ​​the opportunity given by ICT tools to overcome gender inequalities, prejudices, and stereotypes. The contribution is of interest to scholars of informal and incidental learning processes that aim to understand how these affect not only the educational and professional choices that push towards a course of study or a working environment, but more generally the meaningful perspectives that push towards a certain behavior.

keywords: gender gap, education, stereotypes, ict, guidance

➞ PDF [550Kb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula2021-6

citation information: Francesca Bianchi, Alessandra Romano and Mario Giampaolo, Genere e tecnologia: prospettive di significato e distorsioni di futuri educatori professionali socio-pedagogici, "Ocula", vol.22, n.25, pp.25-45, June 2021. DOI: 10.12977/ocula2021-6

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera Università di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (Università Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Ruggero Eugeni (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore , Milano)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (Università di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (Università di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (Università La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Junji Tsuchiya (Waseda University, Tokio, Japan)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com) from 2020
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it) from 2020

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna