home page
 
METADATA



This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

author: Gianfranco Marrone (Dipartimento di Culture e Società, Università di Palermo (IT))

The Logo and the Locus. Genealogy of Fico

language: italian

publication date: June 2020

abstract: Analyzing the semiotic dimension of Fico, an agri-food park near Bologna, we can see a structure of the space that makes a large use of branding strategies. Fico takes up and amplifies some trends already present in unconventional restaurants; so it is necessary to go back at least to McDonald’s to reconstruct its genealogy. Having overcome the opposition between fast and slow food, after Eataly and Expo 2015 Fico tries to put on display the entire agri-food chain, but only partially succeeds. Rather than brand niche products, Fico explicitly opens up to the world of large-scale food distribution. The semiotic analysis of space provides useful demonstrations in this regard.

keywords: fico, brand, logo, space, resemantisation, spazio, risemantizzazione

➞ PDF [1,228Mb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-22

citation information: Gianfranco Marrone, Il logo e il luogo. Genealogia di Fico, "Ocula", vol.21, June 2020. DOI: 10.12977/ocula2020-22

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera Università di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (Università Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Ruggero Eugeni (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore , Milano)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (Università di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (Università di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (Università La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Junji Tsuchiya (Waseda University, Tokio, Japan)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it) from 2017

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna