home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

This article has been published in: Ocula 19, Gamification paths. Research and ludic discourse for the community

author: Vincenzo Idone Cassone (Centro interdipartimentale di ricerca sulla comunicazione-CIRCe, Università di Torino, IT)

Beyond entertainment. Cultural developments at the root of the gamification

language: italian

publication date: October 2018

abstract: The gamification phenomenon has generated a complex debate over the years, characterized by divergent positions, several definitions and conflicting opinions. In particular, it seems to be no convergence between experts on the definition of gamification and on the main dynamics existing between the spheres of game, play and society. The aim of this article is to prepare a preliminary answer to these issues by using cultural semiotics tools: specifically, by analyzing and reconstructing the historical, cultural and social processes that contributed to the origin of the concept of gamification, starting from an overview of discourses and historical interpretations concerning the concepts of game and play, its limits, values and functions.

keywords: gamification, autotelismo, videogame, design, semiotica della cultura, autotelism, digital games, design, cultural semiotics

➞ PDF [425Kb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula2018-10

citation information: Vincenzo Idone Cassone, Beyond entertainment. Dinamiche culturali all’origine della gamification, "Ocula", vol.19, n.19, pp.32-44, October 2018. DOI: 10.12977/ocula2018-10

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Giovanni Baule (Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento di Design)
Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Giovanni Boccia Artieri (Libera Università di Urbino Carlo Bo)
Vanni Codeluppi (Università Iulm, Milano)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Bernard Darras (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne, France)
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Ruggero Eugeni (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore , Milano)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Gianfranco Marrone (Università di Palermo)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Guglielmo Pescatore (Università di Bologna)
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Isabella Pezzini (Università La Sapienza di Roma)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it) from 2017

Andrea Bernardelli (andrea.bernardelli@unipg.it)
Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Antonella Mascio (antonella.mascio@unibo.it)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna