home page
 
METADATA


This article has been subjected to double blind peer review

This article has been published in: Ocula 14, Visible Cities. In Memory of Giovanna Franci

author: Sara Saleri (Università di Bologna (IT))

The many faces of a “slum area”. The case of Brescia's Carmine district

language: italian

publication date: December 2013

abstract: The article is an attempt to investigate Carmine district of Brescia, the most "multicultural" area of the city, trying to identify the dynamics that have formed, divided and reshaped its identity. In particular, the article retraces diachronically the history of the neighborhood, through the analysis of a series of texts, from nineteenth century chronicles to the most recent media stories. This development shows that a certain "image" of the slum has been constructed over time and, in the meanwhile, various representations and perceptions of what is "Urban Decay" have alternated and undermined each other. The article then examines the institutional and powerful urban redevelopment plan, which demanded to regain possession of the definition of the place and to rewrite it on his own surface. In particular, it investigates the relationship of this urban plan with the different memories that are stratified in the area and with the most disruptive innovation experienced in recent years: immigration population growth inside the district.

keywords: città, immigrazione, identità, memoria, architettura, geografia

➞ PDF [223Kb]

DOI: 10.12977/ocula25

citation information: Sara Saleri, I tanti volti di un quartiere “degradato”. Il caso del quartiere Carmine di Brescia, "Ocula", vol.14, December 2013. DOI: 10.12977/ocula25

  

 

Ocula.it publishes articles and essays in semiotic research, with a particular eye on communication and culture; it is open to dialogue with other research fields and welcomes contributions from all the areas of the social and human sciences.

Editorial Committee

Anne Beyaert-Geslin (Université Bordeaux- Montaigne, France)
Marcel Danesi (University of Toronto, Canada) president from 2014
Alessandro Duranti (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
Guido Ferraro (Università di Torino)
Roberto Grandi (Università di Bologna)
Pino Paioni (1920-2013) (Università di Urbino) president from 2009 to 2013
Susan Petrilli (Università di Bari)
Maria Pia Pozzato (Università di Bologna)
Andrea Semprini (Université de Lille, France; Iulm, Milano)
Alessandro Zinna (Université de Toulouse 2, France)


Editorial Board

Coordinator (Editor in Chief): Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it) from 2012 to 2017

Cinzia Bianchi (cinzia.bianchi@unimore.it)
Michela Deni (michela.deni@gmail.com)
Nicola Dusi (nicolamaria.dusi@unimore.it)
Francesco Galofaro (galofaro_francesco@hotmail.com)
Davide Gasperi (davide@davidegasperi.it)
Valentina Manchia (valentina.manchia@gmail.com)
Federico Montanari (federico.mont@gmail.com)
Valentina Pisanty (valentina.pisanty@unibg.it)
Giampaolo Proni (giampaolo.proni@unibo.it)
Ruggero Ragonese (ruggero.ragonese@unimore.it)
Stefano Traini (straini@unite.it)
Salvatore Zingale (salvatore.zingale@polimi.it)


 
 
You can support our initiative by donating in a safe way using PayPal or your credit card








ISSN 1724-7810   |   DOI: 10.12977/ocula

Ocula adheres to the principles of Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI)

Ocula is indexed by Directory Open Access Journal (DOAJ) and Google Scholar

The content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) 

  |  Privacy  |  Ocula.it is published by Associazione Ocula, via Berti 2, 40131 - Bologna